I decided that the best approach to getting over my current crush would be disengagement, after all. So I stayed away from the game, didn’t sign into Ventrilo, and went to bed early instead of talking to the girl. Lasted about one day. When I woke up the next morning, I had four messages on Skype. I decided I couldn’t be an asshole and answered a question she had.

“Thanks,” came the reply. “You know, I missed you last night.”

We then ended up talking for about twelve hours, with some small gaps in between.


 

My friend Carina, to whom I vented some of my frustration about my current situation, said “So, be a home wrecker.”

“I can’t do that,” I exclaimed.

“Why not? And I mean this as a serious question.”

This took me aback. Clearly, it was obvious why I couldn’t do that, wasn’t it? But I know Carina, and she did expect an actual answer.

“It would be a dick move to try and break up someone else’s relationship.”

“And how does that attitude benefit you? Clearly, she is into you to some extent. If her relationship is solid and happy, you can’t break it anyway.”

As always, Carina had a point. Yet, still, …no.

“This way, I can still look at myself in the mirror.”

“Suit yourself. If you did it my way, you could be looking at a cool girlfriend instead of yourself.”


 

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

Above all else, to thine own self be true, as the immortal Will put it so succinctly. I know what must be done, I just don’t quite know how to go about it without being an asshole.

