Ran into Mathylda in the company’s kitchen. She had just gotten herself a cup of coffee. I nodded at her and said “Hi.”

“Hello Secretgeek,” she said, stopping in her track, turning around and approaching me. She then proceeded to chat with me.

A moment later, another co-worker came in, got coffee, exchanged a few words with us and left again.

“He is very cute, don’t you think?” she said, smiling at me. “Downright handsome even.”

I shrugged and tried not to frown. Was she trying to make me uncomfortable? It certainly felt that way.

We talked about other topics for a few more minutes.

“Well, I guess I better go back to my office,” Mathylda eventually sighed. “Not that I want to. See you later, maybe.”

She turned and started to walk away.

“I always hope,” I muttered under my breath. I actually hadn’t intended to say it, it just slipped out.

Mathylda stopped and turned around again.

“Sorry,” she said. “I didn’t quite catch that, what did you say?”

I grasped for a save for a tiny moment. “Oh, see you later,” I simply said.

Mathylda nodded and left, and I felt more the fool than ever.

 

