I inherited a project from a colleague who left the company last week. Today I checked on the status of the thing. The project plan looked pretty good. Then I began to really dig into it.

There were about a dozen vital tasks missing.

Okay. But at least everything else seemed on schedule. Until I really dug into the entire thing. After two hours I knew the project was at least two weeks overdue. When I was done with the entire project plan by mid afternoon, that had extended to five weeks. This is with the project at roughly the 35% mark.

Nobody seems to take the project seriously either. After all, it only has a total value of about two million Euro over three years. And the customer isn’t well known either, not at all visible if we mess this up…

I’ve a bad feeling about this.

