So everything’s done and settled. I am going to start my new job on Monday – in just about 47 hours. I probably should have taken a few weeks months, uhm, decades off, but like a lemming I just threw myself at it.

As with all news things I try, I’m a bit anxious now. The reason? I will be low level management. I do not have personnel responsibility, that is, I have nobody directly under me and I can’t give anybody a direct order, but I do have the M word in my job title. A definitive career advancement, and good for my resume, that is for sure, but where I could before just lean back and let my managers take care of the idiotic quirks of customers, co-workers, other managers, and the universe itself, it will now be expected that I take care of the idiotic quirks of customers, co-workers, other managers, and the universe itself. Of course there will be an escalation process – it’s a long way from where I will be to the top of things – but from now on I am the lowest level in said process.

The good news is that I should have more insight in the dumb things companies do. Perhaps we’ll see the return of the job rant…

