There’s a space in the wall between my living room and my kitchen, for handing things through. Above this I have taped three photos of my One True Love, a woman I will never see again and who will never be my girlfriend again. Underneath it I taped the following quote:

“Always bear in mind that your own resolution to success is more important than any other one thing.” – Abraham Lincoln

The runner-up was the sneakers slogan – “Just do it.”

I have changed so much in the past two weeks. I am losing weight again. I am looking for a new job. A week ago I drove to Oktoberfest in Munich with some friends and got totally wasted. (Okay, I am not proud of that one.) And last night I finally mustered the courage and went outside and jogged around the block. Sure, I am totally out of shape – I ended up walking a lot of the distance. But the most important thing is that I got started.

