Talked to Nadine today. Interestingly, she didn’t try any pickup lines or anything. That’s a good thing, as I like her as a friend but she is really not the type I get horny for. As it turned out, there was a reason for this: she had big news for me.

“Guess what, Secretgeek!” She finally burst out. “I am getting married!”

I congratulated her, and we talked about her plans a bit. Eventually we had to part ways again. She looked at me and asked:

“You’re single right now, right?”

“Yes, why?” I answered carefully, hoping this would not veer off into a talk about Zola.

“You know,” she said, thoughtfully, “I know this Chinese girl. Chinese girls are your type, no? Let me hook you up with her.”

I protested that I really didn’t want to meet anybody right now.

“Nonsense,” she insisted. “You’re almost 30 and don’t even have a girlfriend, I’ll introduce the two of you whether you like it or not, and you better be nice to my friend or I will kick your ass.”

I looked at her for a long moment. I guess I must have been a little in shock at her outburts.

“Just kidding,” she laughed. “But this girl is really very nice and very very pretty. You’ll see.”

Like most of Nadine’s plans, I think that nothing will come from this. Really, I hate arranged dates very much. And I hate dating friends of friends, because when that doesn’t work out it’s always very awkward. Besides I really do not feel comfortable when two of my female friends discuss my sex life. Especially since Nadine is the helpful type who will offer her suggestions on what to improve or try next.

