Here’s an ancient bit of geek culture…

The famous Apple spot “Think Different” is, in my humble opinion, one of the most brilliant pieces ever written, and certainly the most brilliant commercial ever. If this video doesn’t give you that “chill” down your spine then I don’t know how to help you.

Every time I watch this spot I wonder if maybe I was just not rebellious enough. I never fit in, but of course I will not pretend to have had any kind of chance to actually change the world, nor will I pretend to be a genius. Still, when I was 14, or 16, or even 18, it might have been reassuring if someone had told me “Hey, don’t worry about it. The world other people set up for you simply doesn’t make all that much sense. It’s okay if you don’t ‘get it’. Chances are, the rules that you find incomprehensible only exist because they were a consensus reached by a mob of idiots.”

Not that this would have been of much practical use, but it might have made me feel better anyway.

