I had that second interview today. They had planned two hours, but a total of I think ten people divided up into six groups grilled me for over four hours. I already knew that the job would be interesting; but now I can also say that I like the people and the company.

The interview was okay – not perfect, not a disaster either. I left feeling tired and very exhausted. I slept most of the way home. Just now, maybe half an hour after I got back home, I got a telephone call from the department boss.

“Mr. Secretgeek,” he said, “I know we said I would give you feedback next monday, but after discussing everything with my team I decided to call you already.”

Uh-oh?

“Everybody agreed that you made a very good impression, basically you got six ‘thumbs up’ from the six interview groups. I have forwarded your CV and our notes to our company boss with the recommendation that we hire you. You will now have to conduct a telephone interview with him but that’s pretty much a formality only. He wants to get to know the new employees; and you’d have to make an actual effort to fail this one.”

Wow. That I did not expect.

So, as you can imagine, I am quite happy about this result. I’ll keep you posted on what happens next.

