Had an argument with my new girlfriend last night. Today she called me up. It went a little like this:

“Listen, secretgeek, I’ve been thinking.”

“Uh-oh,” Secregeek thought. Aloud, he said: “Yes?”

“I realized you were right with what you told me. And I have decided that I should listen to your opinions more.”

“Right, thanks,” Secretgeek replied. This was not what he had expected.

“You know,” she continued, “I think you were right when you said that it’s OK to have differences, as long as we talk about them.”

“Well, yes. But didn’t I say that like three weeks ago?”

“Yes, Secretgeek. I realized that my pride was really getting in the way. And it’s really not good to be too proud to listen to sound advice.”

Secretgeek hesitated, not really sure what to say to that. Finally, he said: “Well, that’s really good of you. Thank you.”

“Oh, don’t mention it. You’re smart, you know, and you are really good at convincing others of your point. I guess I really should make sure to keep you.”

The argument in question was something relatively minor, something that I had encountered a couple of times before. My new girlfriend (she still needs a name – let’s call her Samantha, shall we?) is a few years younger and didn’t run into many problems before. She is also very much used to getting her way, and of her boyfriends caving in whatever the issue is. Beauty, and a very liberated attitude towards sex, ensured that. I think I am her first boyfriend who doesn’t throw his integrity to the wind when he sees a nice pair of boobs.

