Our outsourced operations team has taken 2 days so far to restore a MySQL database. Not because they didn’t start, they actually worked on it and restored wrong versions, wrong databases, accidentally stopped the import while it was running, and somehow managed to set it up so that the import of the sql dump takes forever. Customer is not really happy, and I am getting fed up to call them up and ask them “is it now okay”?

As I write this, it’s still not done. I really do not want to fix what they screw up because otherwise they’ll never learn; besides there are a lot of other things I am busy with after I wasn’t in the office for so long. You wouldn’t believe how much stuff was never touched. It’s really no fun to reply to a customer’s third “still nothing has been done about my request” complaint email.

