Many years ago I knew this young girl in Malaysia – Azizah. She was nice and all, but I didn’t really know her that well and she was kind of shy too and never around too much. So when she went to college she really thawed and became interested in life. One night we were discussing dating issues. She observed that she was really not interested in a relationship.

“I will keep my virginity until marriage,” she said firmly.

“Well that’s good for you,” I told her. “But I don’t really believe in that. And isn’t it unfair that this is only expected of women?”

“What do you mean, Secretgeek?”

“Oh, well, nobody asks guys to remain virgins until marriage, and really there is no way to tell anyway. So why should women not have the same right to sex befor marriage?”

“Maybe Europeans are like that. Asians don’t do that.”

I laughed. “I think that people are pretty much the same everywhere.”

“No,” she insisted very seriously. “Europeans are decadent like that. Asians aren’t. We are very well behaved and we never do anything naughty.”

Needless to say it didn’t get much better, and that was my last conversation with the young lady.

Fast-forward to the present. Wilma kind of already put the theory of “innocent Asians” to rest, but she wasn’t really special in that regard. As I noted earlier I really cannot blog much about certain things. Just this much: I have recently heard stories that would have sent poor Azizah into catatonia. If she believed them – I mean, I have some problems believing them.

I’ll need an anonymous version of this blog.

Anyway. Sand was right. Nuff said. We now return to our regular schedule of dissing co-workers.

