Yes, that’s an oxymoron even under normal circumstances.

Gaby asked Sven and me our opinion on some minor configuration detail that contractor George is working on. In the course of discussion we found out that these guys are operating a Windows 2000 server, and gave this server full Internet access. It doesn’t even have a virus scanner installed.

Wait a moment? Didn’t Windows 2000 support expire last year? George, Sven and Hans said that, yes, Microsoft has ended support for it.

I did give him a piece of my mind and told him to talk to the boss about this at once. In my eyes this is not only a serious risk, it has to be assumed that the machine has already been compromised. If I had any say about this, I’d have them pull the power plug right now and then set up the entire thing from scratch.

