My buddy Alfred has forced me to re-install World of Warcraft. He’s subscribed for three months because some other friend of his was supposed to start playing. Now this other friend didn’t.

“This is boring alone,” Alfred said.

“I don’t wanna,” I countered.

“Come on,” Alfred insisted. “Just do it!”

“I hate Blizzard,” I said. “Their customer service sucks.”

“Yes, but it’ll be fun to play together!”

“And World of Warcraft is a tedious, badly-designed game,” I argued.

“It’ll be fun to play it with friends.”

“I guess,” I admitted, “but it’s just a bad game.”

“I already got my hunter to level 22,” he reported. “And it’s boring to play alone.”

“Then don’t play?”

“I paid for three months.”

“So now I am supposed to pay for three months too?”

“Yes, that’s the idea.”

We spent about a half-evening evaluating other MMORPGs. All the time arguing that I should (shouldn’t) install World of Warcraft. Conclusion? The MMORPG market is currently crap. There is not one really good title out there. And way too few games offer free trials.

“I don’t even know if I can find all CDs,” I protested finally.

“Just look for them.”

“Well I got four, but aren’t there five?” A pause. “Damnit, there’s the fifth.”

“Just install it already.”

“I am not going to start new characters on your server. You’ll have to play on Steamwheedle Cartel.”

“I spent so many hours on my hunter already!”

“And you expect me to spend even more hours playing this damned thing!”

“Fair enough,” he admitted.

I started the installation. “You so owe me for this,” I told him.

“Ah, come on, it’ll be fun.”

“I hate you.”

“Haha, no you don’t.”

At this point my PC crashed in the middle of the installation. It worked on the second attempt – but five CDs take a long time to install. And then the updates! Easily three hours of downloads and installations and patching.

That’s what I do for friends.

