Couldn’t sleep last night. At around midnight I simply wasn’t tired at all. And I had gotten up maybe at 10am – early for a Sunday. I finally went to bed at 2am. And still couldn’t sleep. Think I tossed and turned for at least another hour, judging by the progress of my audiobook. Slowly drifted off – and had this “falling” sensation that jerks you out of your sleep. Was wide awake again after that, but I think I fell asleep relatively quickly then.

Must’ve completely ignored my 6:30 alarm clock. Or maybe I heard it and got up, disabled it, and went back to sleep without ever regaining conciousness. I certainly don’t remember it. Finally woke up at 8:45 – not very good, as I normally am in the office at 8:30. I made it for 9:40, with some running and a lot of luck with the trains.

I do have “completely” flexible work hours, and I have about 140 hours on my “account”, but I still try not to arrive in the office overly late.

Still, I think I prefer this to the days when I wake up at 4:00 and then can’t sleep again. Those days I will be tired by 17:00 and fall asleep quickly after I get back home. Nothing depresses this geek more than feeling like all he does is work and sleep.

