Someone submitted a comment to this weblog last night with a “homepage” link to a site that is commercial but doesn’t look too spammy. The text of the comment was this:

A few questions from a blog idiot

How do you keep the spammers from eating you alive? i\’ve seen blogs with nothing but spam postings.

How do you keep some left wing extremist from posting racist or defamatory rhetoric? and if you cant stop them, what are you legally liabel when they do?

can viruses be posted to blogs?

At first I wasn’t really sure whether this was a legit comment or spam. Using google on “questions from a blog idiot” didn’t produce any hits, which of course doesn’t really settle issue.

I almost approved this comment – I was just debating whether I really wanted to allow the link to that commercial site. Then I noticed the “i\’ve” in the comment. Wait a minute. Why is the apostrophe escaped by a backslash?

I think it is because the comment was posted using some kind of automated tool or script.

I have marked the comment as spam and had Akismet delete it.

