A supplier stood me up today. Had a maintennance window of 15:00 – 15:30, during which the technician was supposed to work on a system. He showed up at 15:50. The security guards said he entered the premises at 15:40. The guy himself claimed that he had been there 15:15 and that it was basically not his fault that I couldn’t find him. A stupid lie, as he has to register with the security staff and should know that the times are logged.

Needless to say, I sent him away, and I have escalated this through Hans whose job it is to manage our suppliers. At least Hans and I agree that this is not smart behaviour on the part of the technician and that the supplier (who has been plagued by quality problems anyway) needs to be taught a stern lesson.

I am definitely not happy, as this screw-up cost me 2 hours of my day.

