We got a reconfiguration request on Friday afternoon. “It should be taken care of on short notice,” the email said.

Today I am learning what “short notice” means: It should have been taken care of two weeks ago. Because our customer not only is behind schedule with a new application, they also sent out glossy catalogues and flyers about the application to world-wide customers. So, for about a week now, those world-wide customers have been trying to access the application which isn’t accessible yet.

Kicked around the Firewall team and they’re working on my requested changes right now. At least they only work when paid for it (several hundred Euros for an emergency order). I get to stay late even though my department doesn’t get any emergency fees.

And not only that, I also have a bad headache today.

Oh, well, what don’t we do to save our customers from the frying pan.

