Haven’t had any fun with our Eastern European colleagues lately. One of them was supposed to do some database tasks. The parts he had to do yesterday were fine. Unfortunately he neglected to tell me he had the late shift today – and arrived at work at 1pm. Not very good for my noon deadline. He did then proceed to work on the issues, and the db2 database privileges were dropped.

In the three hours since then, he’s been trying to figure out how to fix it. I am sure if I had read the documentation I’d know by now. Especially since he has a production system which has the correct privileges. I don’t know anything about DB2, but I would expect that the superuser can select * on the privileges tables.

Oh well. I’ll task him with fixing it over the weekend and head home. It is, afterall, only a test system for the test deployment.

