As a follow up to the posting where I told you I had found an old friend, I can report that I got a reply from Dara. She writes:

Hi, even though i’m trying not to sound or seem rude it’s going to come out that way anyway. Please do not try to contact or look for me anymore. I have been trying for years to forget my past. My past is my past and I want it to stay that way. I know we were once friends I don’t want to be in the future. I have a different life now. I’m different. I’m sorry but if you can find me then I know others from my past can as well and I just don’t want that. I wish I could explain but I just can’t. I do hope you’re doing well. And that life has been good to you!

And then she disabled incoming messages and also her email account.

Now, that does not sound good at all. I am pretty sure I never gave Dara any reason to hate me. Maybe she hates all men now or something. However that may be, her message was really not nice. She doesn’t want to be friend? Okay, suit yourself. Either way she really could have let me reply. Maybe I could have helped her in some way with the problems she obviously has or had.

Anyway, Dara, I know you will never read this but I am really disappointed with the way you acted right there. It’s immature, it’s pointless, it’s counter-productive, and it’s sad.

I hope you will grow up and reconsider and then at least tell me what the friggin’ problem is.

Sorry, but it had to be said.

