As I said, some of my co-workers are on vacation. This leaves me to do the tasks of 3 people (my 2 co workers and myself). Naturally this means that my days are very full; I can definitely not say that I am bored.

Yesterday at 4:30 pm, after some longish meetings that were totally pointless and a change, I gave a customer access to a user and to mysql root. Okay. This was requested by a coworker a day before, but hey, that’s the lag one has to expect in such situations. The co-workers knows I am basically alone here this week. (Except for co-worker H. but he ain’t exactly helpful in technical issues.) What I didn’t do because I was very tired was to change the partitioning on a SAN drive. Never done that before, so I didn’t want to risk damaging anything. There was a reminder from yesterday, which I didn’t see until I had replied to the original request. And 20 minutes later, co-worker H. called with that other coworker “standing here” to ask what the problem is. I was pretty aggravated at that point, and told him the situation.

Anyway, today I come to work to find not only 10 tickets in our queue on an issue I told the operations team yesterday was known and should be ignored for a few days; I also find that co-worker H. has given the customer full root privileges on the servers in question – something which the co-worker responsible for the project told me was the one thing the customer was not supposed to have.

I told co-worker H. this and his comment was, “well then maybe you should have found a different solution before you went home yesterday”. Supposedly the login on the user I gave the customer did not work.

Of course H. doesn’t know how to debug such a problem. Now I am the bad guy for not getting things to work. And don’t think I have an error report from the customer. In his only mail after I had given him the privileges he asked for the “virtual hostname tomcat runs on” and “from what user can I login as the tomcat user” (highly qualified questions those too, I guess).

Okay, so the customer now has the root privileges. I guess I could revoke those, but why should I? If my co-workers are not able to even think that maybe there is a reason that the customer does not have root rights.

Very well, then the customer can do the configuration themselves. I don’t really care. And if there is a problem, then maybe my co-worker H. can solve that. I’d really like to see him change these SAN partitions (which doesn’t look like a big deal, but he has about the technical expertise of a Krynnish tinker gnome).

Currently I am so pissed I am seriously considering looking for a new job. World of Warcraft is looking for professional Game Masters. I wonder what they pay?

