I’ve come back just in time for more fun with our helpdesk.

A customer had a request on the 2nd of December 2005. He called the user helpdesk, who opened a call, and then changed that into an incident. The request? The creation of a simple user for FTP on a server we maintain. Okay, so I did tell them about a month ago to send such requests directly to us, but in general the way of going via the helpdesk is perfectly fine of course.

Today, as I was clearing out the email from my vacation, I found an email from the customer asking me to take a look into the matter. Naturally, I asked all my colleagues, but none had heard the name of this guy before. So I checked out the ticket.

After the helpdesk had received the call on 02-Dec, they tried to figure out what to do with it. The ticket went to about a half-dozen departments, the Remote Access team last of all (last week). Of course, nobody knew how to create that user.

I finally found out that my co-worker S. had actually created the user last week, but the request had come in via someone else. Matter settled. But why did we not get that ticket earlier? The helpdesk should have routed the ticket to the NOC, which then has all the relevant information and documentation on who to call or email about the server. And anyway the Helpdesk is not normally afraid to assign us tickets that really, for all the love of it, have nothing to do with us. And you don’t think that in over 2 months now, anybody would think of starting a more serious search for admins for that server. No, just let the ticket bounce around for some time, until the customer takes matters into his own hands again and bypasses the helpdesk.

Nice fat cushy jobs they must have. I guess I can sum it up like so:

Q. Why do we define processes and write documentation?

A. So that other people have something they can ignore.

